Dr. Bill O' Gorman, from WIT, speaking about this site on WLR

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Composion of Irish Regions: NUTS

Ireland is broken up into a number of classifications based on the NUTS (Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics) geocode standard used by Eurostat. The Republic of Ireland is split into two NUTS 2 regions and eight NUTS 3 regions.

According to the Central Statistics Office (CSO), the Dublin region and Mid East region (Kildare, Meath and Wicklow) are affected by a ‘substantial proportion of their workforce living in one region and commuting to work in another’. Therefore, it is often more useful to merge these two regions. Both the NUTS 2 regions and the eight NUTS 3 regions are outlined below.

Composition of Regions

Border, Midland and Western NUTS 2 Region

1. Border Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Louth, Monaghan and Sligo

2. West Galway County, Galway City, Mayo and Roscommon

3. Midland Laois, Longford, Offaly and Westmeath

Southern and Eastern NUTS 2 Region

4. Mid East Kildare, Meath and Wicklow

5. Dublin Dublin City, Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin

6. South East Waterford County, Waterford City, Carlow, Kilkenny, Wexford and South Tipperary

7. South West Cork County, Cork City and Kerry

8. Mid West Limerick County, Limerick City, Clare and North Tipperary

No comments: